Dystopian Fiction for Teens / Teen Reads

Books for teens categorized for your consideration by library staff!

"Allegiant (Divergent, #3)" by Veronica Roth

'Allegiant (Divergent, #3)' by Veronica Roth

★★★★★ The intriguing conclusion to the Divergent series, this book will be hard to put down. Tris and Four continue to search for answers and a way to put the pieces of their broken lives back together. What began with a choice that changed their lives forever continues to be a journey of choices and tough lessons in love, courage, truth, and sacrifice. ...

Reviewed by Bettina P. Read more reviews of "Allegiant (Divergent, #3)" at Goodreads.com. »

"The Registry" by Shannon Stoker

'The Registry' by Shannon Stoker

★★★★★ Looking for a new dystopian trilogy? Look no further! This is a book that will be hard to put down and will leave you wishing you had the next book. In this new America, girls are raised to be brides and sold to the highest bidder, and boys are raised to be soldiers ready to fight. Follow eighteen year old Mia as she goes on a journey to be a free woman and see what happens to create "The Registry". ...

Reviewed by Heather B. Read more reviews of "The Registry" at Goodreads.com. »

"Icons (Icons, #1)" by Margaret Stohl

'Icons (Icons, #1)' by Margaret Stohl

Your heart beats only with their permission.Everything changed on The Day. The day the windows shattered. The day the power stopped. The day Dol's family dropped dead. The day Earth lost a war it didn't know it was fighting.Since then, Dol has lived a simple life in the countryside -- safe from the shadow of the Icon and its terrifying power. Hiding from the one truth she can't avoid.She's different. She survived. ...

Read more reviews of "Icons (Icons, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

"MILA 2.0 (MILA 2.0, #1)" by Debra Driza

'MILA 2.0 (MILA 2.0, #1)' by Debra Driza

Mila 2.0 is the first book in an electrifying sci-fi thriller series about a teenage girl who discovers that she is an experiment in artificial intelligence.Mila was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was a girl living with her mother in a small Minnesota town. She was supposed to forget her past—that she was built in a secret computer science lab and programmed to do things real people would never do. ...

Read more reviews of "MILA 2.0 (MILA 2.0, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

"Shades of Earth (Across the Universe, #3)" by Beth Revis

'Shades of Earth (Across the Universe, #3)' by Beth Revis

★★★★ "Shades of Earth," book three in the "Across the Universe" series, proved to be a great ending to this sci-fi thriller. Having traveled across the universe on a 300 year journey, Elder and Amy finally arrive to their destination: An earth-like planet called Centauri-Earth. After a rocky landing, the frozen military personnel and scientists from Earth are reanimated. The ship-borns and earth-borns will have to work together to understand ...

Reviewed by Taylor W. Read more reviews of "Shades of Earth (Across the Universe, #3)" at Goodreads.com. »

"The Testing (The Testing, #1)" by Joelle Charbonneau

'The Testing (The Testing, #1)' by Joelle Charbonneau

★★★★ Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent trilogies who are looking for their next read should grab The Testing. This young adult novel describes a dystopian society ravaged by the Seven Stages War, in which graduation day brings celebration and a wish for the future. Graduate Malencia Vale desperately hopes that she is one of the select few chosen for a chance to compete in "The Testing", weeks of competitive tests that grant the winners a u ...

Reviewed by Sarah M. Read more reviews of "The Testing (The Testing, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

"Insurgent (Divergent, #2)" by Veronica Roth

'Insurgent (Divergent, #2)' by Veronica Roth

★★★★★ The second book in Veronica Roth's Divergent series continues to follow 16-year-old Tris Prior as she struggles to make sense of her world as it crumbles around her. Tris has finally embraced her divergence but must now figure out what to do about the danger it places on those closest to her. She must make peace with herself as she battles guilt, grief, and loss and tries to decide whose love and loyalty is true, all while she continues to ...

Reviewed by Bettina P. Read more reviews of "Insurgent (Divergent, #2)" at Goodreads.com. »

"Article 5 (Article 5, #1)" by Kristen Simmons

'Article 5 (Article 5, #1)' by Kristen Simmons

New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned.The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes.There are no more police—instead, there are soldiers. There are no more fines for bad behavior—instead, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse. People who get arrested usually don't come back.Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren't always th ...

Read more reviews of "Article 5 (Article 5, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

"Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1)" by Veronica Rossi

'Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1)' by Veronica Rossi

WORLDS KEPT THEM APART.DESTINY BROUGHT THEM TOGETHER.Aria has lived her whole life in the protected dome of Reverie. Her entire world confined to its spaces, she's never thought to dream of what lies beyond its doors. So when her mother goes missing, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland long enough to find her are slim.Then Aria meets an outsider named Perry. He's sea ...

Read more reviews of "Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

"Starters (Starters, #1)" by Lissa Price

'Starters (Starters, #1)' by Lissa Price

HER WORLD IS CHANGED FOREVERCallie lost her parents when the Spore Wars wiped out everyone between the ages of twenty and sixty. She and her little brother, Tyler, go on the run, living as squatters with their friend Michael and fighting off renegades who would kill them for a cookie. Callie's only hope is Prime Destinations, a disturbing place in Beverly Hills run by a mysterious figure known as the Old Man.He hi ...

Read more reviews of "Starters (Starters, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

"Delirium (Delirium, #1)" by Lauren Oliver

'Delirium (Delirium, #1)' by Lauren Oliver

Ninety-five days, and then I'll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It's hard to be patient. It's hard not to be afraid while I'm still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn't touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don't. ...

Read more reviews of "Delirium (Delirium, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

"Legend (Legend, #1)" by Marie Lu

'Legend (Legend, #1)' by Marie Lu

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic's wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic's highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country's most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.From very dif ...

Read more reviews of "Legend (Legend, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

"Divergent (Divergent, #1)" by Veronica Roth

'Divergent (Divergent, #1)' by Veronica Roth

★★★★★ The first book in Veronica Roth's wildly popular series does not disappoint! We meet 16-year-old Beatrice Prior on the eve of the most important decision of her life. She must chose one of five factions to belong to for the rest of her years. Will she choose to stay with her family or find a new one? Her decision is complicated by her test results and her realization that the perfect world in which she thought she lived is very flawed inde ...

Reviewed by Bettina P. Read more reviews of "Divergent (Divergent, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

"Enclave (Razorland, #1)" by Ann Aguirre

'Enclave (Razorland, #1)' by Ann Aguirre

New York City has been decimated by war and plague, and most of civilization has migrated to underground enclaves, where life expectancy is no more than the early 20's. When Deuce turns 15, she takes on her role as a Huntress, and is paired with Fade, a teenage Hunter who lived Topside as a young boy. When she and Fade discover that the neighboring enclave has been decimated by the tunnel monsters - or Freaks - who seem to be growing more organiz ...

Read more reviews of "Enclave (Razorland, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

"Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, #1)" by Moira Young

'Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, #1)' by Moira Young

Saba lives in Silverlake, a wasteland ravaged by constant sandstorms where her family scavenge from landfills left by the long-gone Wrecker civilization. After four cloaked horsemen kidnap her beloved twin brother Lugh, she teams up with daredevil Jack and the Free Hawks, a girl gang of Revolutionaries. Saba learns that she is a fierce fighter, an unbeatable survivor, and a cunning opponent. And she has the power to take down a corrupt s ...

Read more reviews of "Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

"Matched (Matched, #1)" by Ally Condie

'Matched (Matched, #1)' by Ally Condie

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate... until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.The Society tells her it's a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she ...

Read more reviews of "Matched (Matched, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

16 | Based on the Goodreads API.