MCPL logo

Marathon County Public Library

Skip Navigation

2019 Youth Media Award Winners

book covers of the 2019 Youth Media Award winners

January 31, 2019

The American Library Association has announced its 2019 youth media award winners earlier this week! These awards celebrate the most outstanding and high quality materials for children and teens. They are selected by committees of librarians and other literature or media experts and are meant to guide parents, librarians and educators towards quality works for children. Check out the latest winners from MCPL. For a full list of all award winners, visit the ALA website.

The John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature was awarded to Merci Suárez Changes Gears by Meg Medina. Two Newbery Honor Books also were named: The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani and The Book of Boy by Catherine Gilbert Murdock.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children was awarded to Hello Lighthouseillustrated and written by Sophie Blackall. Four Caldecott Honor Books also were named: Alma and How She Got Her Name, illustrated and written by Juana Martinez-Neal, A Big Mooncake for Little Star, illustrated and written by Grace Lin, The Rough Patch, illustrated and written by Brian Lies, and Thank You, Omu! illustrated and written by Oge Mora.

The Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults was awarded to The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo. Three Printz Honor Books also were named: Damsel, written by Elana K. Arnold, A Heart in a Body in the World, written by Deb Caletti, and I, Claudia, written by Mary McCoy.

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards recognize an African-American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults. The Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award was awarded to A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919, written by Claire Hartfield. Three King Author honor books were selected: Finding Langston, written by Lesa Cline-Ransome, The Parker Inheritance, written by Varian Johnson, and The Season of Styx Malone, written by Kekla Magoon. The Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award was awarded to The Stuff of Stars, illustrated by Ekua Holmes. Three King Illustrator honor books were selected: Hidden Figures, illustrated by Laura Freeman, Let the Children March, illustrated by Frank Morrison, and Memphis, Martin, and the Mountaintop, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie.

The Pura Belpré Award honors a Latino writer and illustrator whose children's books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience. The illustrator award was given to Dreamers, illustrated and written by Yuyi Morales. Two Belpré Illustrator honor books were named: Islandborn, illustrated by Leo Espinosa and written by Junot Díaz; and When Angels Sing: The Story of Rock Legend Carlos Santana, illustrated by Jose Ramirez, written by Michael Mahin. The Poet X, written by Elizabeth Acevedo, is the Pura Belpré Author Award winner. One Belpré Author honor book was named: They Call Me Güero: A Border Kid’s Poems, written by David Bowles.

The Stonewall Book Award honors children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender experience. In 2019, Julián Is a Mermaid, written by Jessica Love, received this honor as well as Hurricane Child, written by Kheryn Callender. Two honor books were selected: Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World, written by Ashley Herring Blake, and Picture Us in the Light, written by Kelly Loy Gilbert.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book is Fox the Tiger, written and illustrated by Corey R. Tabor. Four Geisel honor books were named: The Adventures of Otto: See Pip Flap, written and illustrated by David Milgrim; Fox + Chick: The Party and Other Stories, written and illustrated by Sergio Ruzzier; King & Kayla and the Case of the Lost Tooth, written by Dori Hillestad Butler; and illustrated by Nancy Meyers, and Tiger vs. Nightmare, written and illustrated by Emily Tetri.

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature promotes Asian/Pacific American culture and heritage and is awarded based on literary and artistic merit. The award offers three youth categories including Picture Book, Children’s Literature, and Young Adult Literature. The award is administered by the Asian Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA), an affiliate of ALA.  This year’s winners include: Picture Book winner Drawn Together, written by Minh Lê, illustrated by Dan Santat; Children’s Literature Category winner Front Desk, written by Kelly Yang; and Young Adult Literature winner Darius the Great is Not Okay, written by Adib Khorram.

Schneider Family Book Award is awarded for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience. The award for young children (ages 0-10) was awarded to Rescue & Jessica: A Life-Changing Friendship, written by Jessica Kensky and Patrick Downes. One honor book for young children was selected: The Remember Balloons, written by Jessie Oliveros and illustrated by Dana Wulfekotte. The middle grade winner is The Truth As Told by Mason Buttle, written by Leslie Connor. One honor book for middle grades was selected: The Collectors, written by Jacqueline West. The winner for teens (ages 13-18) is Anger Is a Gift, written by Mark Oshiro. One honor book for teens was selected: (Don’t) Call Me Crazy: 33 Voices Start the Conversation about Mental Health, edited by Kelly Jensen.

For a full list of all award winners, visit the ALA website.

Awards Youth Media Awards Books Children Reading Recommendations

image credit: images from V-Cat/Content Cafe