MCPL logo

Marathon County Public Library

Skip Navigation

Your opinion is needed for Marathon County Parks survey!

copy of the Marathon Co. Parks, Rec and Forestry Dept. logo

March 21, 2019

Marathon County's Parks, Recreation & Forestry Department is responsible for maintaining over 60 parks, trails, forest units and recreational facilities across Marathon County. These properties include Marathon Park, Wausau's outdoor pools, the Dells of the Eau Claire Park, Sylvan Hill, The 400 Block, Mountain-Bay Trail and other scenic gems around the area. 

Through April 14, the Parks, Recreation & Forestry Department is conducting a public survey of park and recreational facilities as part of an update to the County’s Comprehensive Outdoor Recreation Plan. As a valued member of the community, you're invited to take an online survey that will let the County know what you think of our parks, trails, forests and other recreational facilities, and how you use them. The survey can be accessed by visiting

Online responses are preferred; however, hard copies of the survey are also available at the Parks, Recreation and Forestry Department office, located at 212 River Drive, Suite 2, Wausau. Please return completed surveys to the same location by April 14. For more information, contact Jamie Polley, Marathon County Parks, Recreation & Forestry Director, by calling 715-261-1550 or by emailing to

In addition, the Parks Department is holding a “Plan to Play” public involvement meeting on Tuesday April 30 at 6:00 PM in the Wausau Community Room inside MCPL's Wausau Headquarters, located at 300 N. First St., Wausau. The purpose of the meeting will be to review the results of the community survey and obtain additional feedback on desired park and recreation improvements within the County’s park system (NOTE: this meeting is not sponsored by the Marathon County Public Library.)

For more information or to check for official meeting confirmation, visit the website for the Marathon County Parks, Recreation and Forestry Department.



image credit: Marathon County