MCPL logo

Marathon County Public Library

Skip Navigation ATTENTION: (1) all MCPL locations open by appointment only; (2) curbside pickup is available: [Details.]

Magpie Murders

Cover: 'Magpie Murders'

Staff Review: "Magpie Murders" by Anthony Horowitz

★★★★★

With this book you get two mysteries to solve—one is a classic whodunit (Magpie Murders) that brings to mind Agatha Christie, and the other is a modern day mystery surrounding its author and manuscript. Susan Ryeland is an editor at a small publishing house whose fortunes were built on the success of prickly author Alan Conway’s Atticus Pünd series, and she’s tasked with reading his latest manuscript, not realizing how drastically her life will change as a result. It’s a clever book that revels in the familiar elements of an Agatha Christie-style case, complete with a quietly observant city detective and small town secrets, and informs the modern mystery that Susan in determined to solve. It’s a delightful book that artfully locks together two mysteries to create a satisfying whole. Fans of Agatha Christie, Sophie Hannah, and the television programs created by Horowitz (Midsomer Murders and Foyle’s War) are sure to enjoy this book. The audiobook, which is available on CD and through OverDrive, is highly recommended!

Audience: adults | Genre: fiction

check it out more reviews