MCPL logo

Marathon County Public Library

Skip Navigation UPDATED: Due to COVID-19 (coronavirus), all MCPL locations are closed 3/17–4/26.

The Testing

Cover: 'The Testing'

Staff Review: "The Testing" by Joelle Charbonneau

★★★★

Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent trilogies who are looking for their next read should grab The Testing. This young adult novel describes a dystopian society ravaged by the Seven Stages War, in which graduation day brings celebration and a wish for the future. Graduate Malencia Vale desperately hopes that she is one of the select few chosen for a chance to compete in "The Testing", weeks of competitive tests that grant the winners a university education and a chance to be the future leaders of the United Commonwealth. But after she is chosen, her father reveals the nightmares that plague him after his own experience, and warns her to trust no one. What ensues is a fast-paced novel full of risk and romance. 
 

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, dystopian

check it out more reviews