MCPL logo

Marathon County Public Library

Skip Navigation

Staff Reviews by Sarah Moscatello

Cover: 'The Testing'

"The Testing" by Joelle Charbonneau

★★★★ Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent trilogies who are looking for their next read should grab The Testing. This young adult novel describes a dystopian society ravaged by the Seven Stages War, in which graduation day brings celebration and a wish for the future. Graduate Malencia Vale desperately hopes that she is one of the select few chosen for a...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, dystopian

Cover: 'The Here and Now'

"The Here and Now" by Ann Brashares

★★★★ In "The Here and Now" we meet Prenna, an immigrant not from another country, but another time. Leaving behind the future dying world that has been ravaged by a plague, those few lucky survivors emigrate to the present day. They bring with them twelve strict rules they believe will protect the world they saw destroyed. But when Prenna is frantically warned...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, romance

Cover: 'The Pieces We Keep'

"The Pieces We Keep" by Kristina McMorris

★★★★★ In this gripping new novel, we meet Audra, a widow still struggling after the loss of her husband. In an effort to start fresh, she takes her son, Jack, on a job interview, where he has an intense panic attack. Soon, Jack starts having violent night terrors, in which he mumbles names Audra has never heard of. Soon he shows a new obsession with World War II...

Audience: adults | Genre: fiction

Cover: 'Fear Nothing'

"Fear Nothing" by Lisa Gardner

★★★★★ After Detective D.D. Warren returns to a vicious crime scene where she is confronted by the soon to be called Rose Killer, she awakes with only the memory of a lullaby ringing in her ears. Her extensive injuries send her to a pain specialist who, coincidentally enough, has a genetic condition that prevents her from feeling pain of any kind. But that's not...

Audience: adults | Genre: fiction, mystery

Cover: 'Catch Me'

"Catch Me" by Lisa Gardner

★★★★★ The sixth Detective D.D. Warren novel by Lisa Gardner, CATCH ME, opens to find a woman named Charlene Rosalind Carter Grant who believes, after the murder of her two best friends, that she will be next to die in exactly four days. Counting down the hours until her death, Charlene finds Detective Warren at the crime scene of a murdered pedophile and pleads...

Audience: adults | Genre: fiction, mystery

Cover: 'Vegan a la Mode: More Than 100 Ice Creams, Gelatos, Granitas, and Other Frozen Delights'

"Vegan a la Mode: More Than 100 Ice Creams, Gelatos, Granitas, and Other Frozen Delights" by Hannah Kaminsky

★★★★★ This book is the best source I have found so far for vegan desserts. For someone who can't have soy, dairy, or egg, this book was the one resource that finally allowed me to have dessert again! The recipes are excellent in and of themselves, and the illustrations make the treats all the more tempting to the reader. Most recipes don't even include too many...

Audience: adults | Genre: nonfiction, cookbook

Cover: 'Just what kind of mother are you?'

"Just what kind of mother are you?" by

★★★★ In Paula Daly's debut novel, we are introduced to Kate, an overwhelmed and overworked mother of three, who in the chaos of daily life not only forgets that her daughter's best friend was supposed to sleepover, but wakes up the next day to find that she is missing. After a young girl had recently been kidnapped and seen walking back into town with telltale...

Audience: adults | Genre: fiction, mystery

Cover: 'Curiosity Thrilled the Cat'

"Curiosity Thrilled the Cat" by Sofie Kelly

★★★★ Being a library assistant, I initially picked up "Curiosity Thrilled the Cat" because the main character, Kathleen, is a librarian that moves to a small Minnesotan town after her life in Boston throws her a curveball. Add in two adorable cats that remind me of my own, and I was hooked. This cozy mystery is packed with characters you instantly love,...

Audience: adults | Genre: fiction, mystery

Pages