MCPL logo

Marathon County Public Library

Skip Navigation Holiday hours: All MCPL locations will be closed by 5pm on Wed., 11/27, and closed all day Thu., 11/28.

Staff Reviews: For Teens

Check out these reviews written by the staff of the Marathon County Public Library, featuring books and DVDs for teens! (For reviews of books for all ages, visit our main Staff Reviews webpage.) Staff book reviews also are published at Goodreads.com; follow us for the latest updates. The book reviews on this website represent the personal opinions of the individuals who created them and do not represent any official views of the Marathon County Public Library.


Cover: 'The Registry'

"The Registry" by Shannon Stoker

★★★★★ Looking for a new dystopian trilogy? Look no further! This is a book that will be hard to put down and will leave you wishing you had the next book. In this new America, girls are raised to be brides and sold to the highest bidder, and boys are raised to be soldiers ready to fight. Follow eighteen year old Mia as she goes on a journey to be a free woman and...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, dystopian

Cover: 'Nantucket Red'

"Nantucket Red" by Leila Howland

★★★★ A sequel to Nantucket Blue, Nantucket Red finds protagonist Cricket Thompson newly graduated from high school. Cricket is accepted to Brown University with a coveted spot on the lacrosse team, and heads back to Nantucket in order to earn money for the Ivy League life. Soon after arriving, one night on the island causes Cricket's future to be thrown up in...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction

Cover: 'This Song Will Save Your Life'

"This Song Will Save Your Life" by Leila Sales

★★★★ Elise has always struggled to make friends, so much so that she had even once turned to suicide as an answer to her loneliness. After her failed attempt at suicide, she continued to be a loser at school.  Just as Elise is resigned that her life will never get better and be what she knows it could, she haphazardly discovers an underground dance club....

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, music

Cover: 'Say What You Will'

"Say What You Will" by Cammie McGovern

★★★★ Meet Amy and Mathew, two teens with different types of disabilities who somehow find one another and become best friends. When Amy leaves for college, they both need to realize their limitations or abilities, and learn to adapt to life without one another. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of recently popular teen fiction. This book...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction

Cover: 'The One'

"The One" by Kiera Cass

★★ "The One" is the third and final book of The Selection Trilogy.  The central character, America, and three other young ladies are still vying for Prince Maxon's heart. The country of Illea is experiencing more and more unrest among rebels groups looking for equality and the dissolution of the chaste system. These rebels are threatening the selection...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction

Cover: 'Divergent'

"Divergent" by Veronica Roth

★★★★★ The first book in Veronica Roth's wildly popular series does not disappoint! We meet 16-year-old Beatrice Prior on the eve of the most important decision of her life. She must chose one of five factions to belong to for the rest of her years. Will she choose to stay with her family or find a new one? Her decision is complicated by her test results and her...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, ya fiction with adult appeal, dystopian

Cover: 'We Were Liars'

"We Were Liars" by E. Lockhart

★★★★★ WE WERE LIARS is the perfect summer read for teens and adults! Cadence Sinclair lives a life unfamiliar to most of us, full of money, privilege, and summers spent on a private island with her family. Something terrible happens the summer that she is fifteen between Cadence, her two cousins, and family friend Gat, whom are collectively know as "The Liars,"...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction

Cover: 'Dangerous Creatures'

"Dangerous Creatures" by Kami Garcia

★★ This book is a disappointing attempt at a spin-off series from the writers of BEAUTIFUL CREATURES, the popular teen series about the supernatural world of Casters (witches) in South Carolina. Link and Ridley, now an on-again, off-again couple with magical abilities, escape their fictitious southern town of Gatlin, South Carolina, and head to New York City....

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, paranormal, supernatural

Cover: 'Winter Town'

"Winter Town" by Stephen Edmond

★★★★ Every winter break, Evan's best friend Lucy returns to visit her father.  This year is no exception...however, Lucy has changed.  Evan struggles to reunite and reconnect with his closest friend, while Lucy struggles to reconcile her behavior while living with her mom in Georgia with who she is around Evan and his family.  Nothing earth...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, realistic, character-driven

Cover: 'City of Heavenly Fire'

"City of Heavenly Fire" by Cassandra Clare

★★★★ A satisfying end to an interesting young adult series, Cassandra Clare does not disappoint fans of The Mortal Instruments with this final installment. The book is over 700 pages, but it’s full of Shadowhunters, lycanthropes, faeries, warlocks, and vampires battling Clary’s evil brother Sebastian and his legion of dark Shadowhunters in Hell. Much of the plot...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, fantasy

Cover: 'Guy In Real Life'

"Guy In Real Life" by Steve Brezenoff

★★★★ So you read "Eleanor and Park" and you're looking for something similar. Look no farther, as I have your next read right here! Steven Brezenoff's "Guy in Real Life," is an excellent companion to "Eleanor and Park." Lesh is into heavy metal and black dusters. After a Labor Day metal show, he drunkenly smashed into Svetlana...no worries, he's walking and...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, realistic

Cover: 'This One Summer'

"This One Summer" by Mariko Tamaki

★★★★★ Every summer Rose and her parents visit Awago Beach.  There are the timeless jokes (Rose's father jokes about Rose being born at the turkey farm) and the old summer only friends, in Rose's case, Windy.  This summer is different.  Rose's mom and dad aren't getting along and Rose thinks she knows why:  Rose's mom wants to have another baby...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, graphic novel, realistic, award-winning, printz award winner

Cover: 'The Testing'

"The Testing" by Joelle Charbonneau

★★★★ Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent trilogies who are looking for their next read should grab The Testing. This young adult novel describes a dystopian society ravaged by the Seven Stages War, in which graduation day brings celebration and a wish for the future. Graduate Malencia Vale desperately hopes that she is one of the select few chosen for a...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, dystopian

Cover: 'The Here and Now'

"The Here and Now" by Ann Brashares

★★★★ In "The Here and Now" we meet Prenna, an immigrant not from another country, but another time. Leaving behind the future dying world that has been ravaged by a plague, those few lucky survivors emigrate to the present day. They bring with them twelve strict rules they believe will protect the world they saw destroyed. But when Prenna is frantically warned...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, romance

Cover: 'Where She Went'

"Where She Went" by Gayle Forman

★★★★★ This is the companion book to "If I Stay".  This story picks up a couple of years after the first book ends and is told from the point of view of Mia's former boyfriend, Adam, who is now a rock star.  This story tells the aftermath of Mia's choice from the end of "If I Stay". There are sometimes no words for a book where at the end all you can...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction

Cover: 'If I Stay'

"If I Stay" by Gayle Forman

★★★★★ Forman leaves us wondering just which choice we would make in the same situation as Mia.  This touching young adult novel has it all, from love, to heartache, and devastating loss.  I was gripped not only by the story line, but also by the way Forman was able to make me hear the music of the novel simply through words on a page.  The emotions...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction

Cover: 'The 5th Wave'

"The 5th Wave" by Rick Yancey

★★★★★ In this fast paced teen dystopian novel, aliens have invaded and Cassie, one of earth's last surviving humans, must fight the odds to rescue her little brother, Sam. Cassie has remained on the run, trusting only herself, since her parents were killed, until she meets Evan Walker. The mysterious Evan may be Cassie's only hope for survival, but is he really...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, science fiction, survival

Cover: 'Fangirl'

"Fangirl" by Rainbow Rowell

★★★★★ Cath and Wren are identical twins entering their freshman year of college. Wren jumps into the party scene while Cath dives into her favorite hobby: writing fanfiction about the literary phenomenon Simon Snow. Wren and Cath used to write it together, but Wren is slowly drifting apart from her twin, wanting to make her own identity apart from Cath. Feeling...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, realistic

Cover: 'The False Prince'

"The False Prince" by Jennifer A. Nielsen

★★★★ Sage, an orphan boy in the land of Carthya, is mysteriously bought by nobleman Conner, along with three other boys. As they start on their journey to Conner's estate, Conner reveals a plot to prevent civil war in Carthya. He wants to make one of the chosen boys into a false prince to replace the missing Prince Jaron to keep the other regents and noblemen...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, fantasy

Cover: 'Looking for Alaska'

"Looking for Alaska" by John Green

★★★★ This story follows the main character, Miles, a.k.a.  “Pudge “ as he leaves his public school in Florida and travels to Culver Creek, a boarding school in Alabama.  He is on a quest to seek his “Great Perhaps,” or his greatest journey that could be if only he just tries.  He is paired with the roommate, who goes by  “The Colonel,” and...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, romance, tragedy, award-winning, printz award winner

Cover: 'Out of the Easy'

"Out of the Easy" by Ruta Sepetys

★★★★★ We can’t choose the families that we are born into but we can choose our destiny. Born to a prostitute mother and an unknown father, and living in a brothel with her mother in the French Quarter, Josie Moraine appears to have the cards stacked against her. While cleaning rooms at a brothel, working at a bookstore, and being tangled up in a murder...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction

Cover: 'Fangirl'

"Fangirl" by Rainbow Rowell

★★★★★ Cath and Wren are identical twins entering their freshman year of college. Wren jumps into the party scene while Cath dives into her favorite hobby: writing fanfiction about the literary phenomenon Simon Snow. Wren and Cath used to write it together, but Wren is slowly drifting apart from her twin, wanting to make her own identity apart from Cath. Feeling...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction, realistic

Cover: 'Dancer, Daughter, Traitor, Spy'

"Dancer, Daughter, Traitor, Spy" by Elizabeth Kiem

★★★★ Marina's mother, Sveta, is the Soviet Union's star ballerina in 1986. When Sveta has visions of a horrific USSR secret, she mysteriously goes missing. Marina and her father flee to Brooklyn to escape the KGB, the Soviet Union's secret police. Marina and her father must adapt to life in Brooklyn without Sveta, but Marina's father can't let her disappearance...

Audience: teens | Genre: fiction

Pages