New Books / Book Lists

Reading Recommendations

Top 10 Adult Nonfiction Books of 2016

With just a few days left to 2016, we at the Marathon County Public Library are reflecting on the past 12 months and analyzing which materials have been the most popular with our patrons here in northcentral Wisconsin. When it comes to the top 10 most-checked out nonfiction books, it looks like many folks wanted to improve their lives in one way or another, whether it was through organizing and tidying up their personal spaces (see the top spot and #8) or through eating and living healther (#2, 5, 6, and 10).  Take a look for yourself at the 10 most-checked out adult nonfiction books of 2016 at all nine MCPL branches. Consider seeing why they're so popular by checking them out yourself!

Top 10 Adult Fiction Books of 2016

With 2016 coming to a close, we at the Marathon County Public Library are taking a look back at the past year to see what items have been most popular with our patrons here in northcentral Wisconsin. When it comes to adult fiction, it seems that patrons can’t get enough mysteries, thrillers, and other action-packed books by popular authors like John Grisham, Janet Evanovich and James Patterson. Like the rest of the country, they have also been swept away by World War II epics like All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, both of which spent much of the year on the New York Times Best Sellers list. Take a look for yourself at the 10 most-checked out adult fiction books of 2016 at all...

National Book Award Winners at MCPL!

The 67th annual National Book Awards were held on November 16 in New York City. Authors and poets were awarded the coveted National Book Award in four different literary categories - Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry and Young People's Literature.  The winners of the 2016 National Book Awards are listed below. If you're inclined to check any (or all) the winners out, you're in luck; MCPL owns copies of each!   

Take Time to Read with Your Kids!

It’s mid-October and the school year is well underway, with teachers handing out homework to reinforce the skills they teach their students in the classroom. Reading homework is just as important as homework in any other class and is a skill used time and time again throughout a person’s life. Most adults have likely been reading so long that it’s hard to remember what it was like to struggle through a sentence. Carolyn Wilhelm at the website Cult of Pedagogy has some great tips for parents when it comes to reading homework. Reading homework often requires a parent to listen to a child as he or she reads aloud. For older children, reading homework may consist of reading for a number of set minutes each day or...

2016 National Book Award Finalists

The finalists for this year's National Book Award have been announced, comprised of the best literature from the last year. Five finalists remain in the running in each of the four categories - Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry and Young People's Literature - and a winner from each will be selected and announced on November 16. Each winner will be awarded with a medal, statue and $10,000.  Take a gander at the finalists in each category below, then visit our catalog to check out and read some of them for yourself! Fiction The Throwback Special by Chris Bachelder News of the World by Paulette Jiles The Association of Small Bombs by Karan Mahajan The Underground...

What to Read After Watching "Stranger Things"

In the supernatural/horror/mystery television drama "Stranger Things," a young boy goes missing in small town Indiana in the 1980s. His mother, the police chief, and his friends must face a superatural monster and a top-secret government facility to get him back.    This series, which premiered on Netflix back in July, has captivated viewers young and old with its suspense, gripping storylines and wildly original characters. If you've already binged watched season one and can't get enough, below is a list of books similar in story and tone, which will (hopefully) tide you over until season two premieres in 2017!     "The Boy Who Drew Monsters" by Keith Donohue   "Boy's Life"...

President Barack Obama

Read like the President!

Summer is quickly winding down, which means the time to accomplish your summer reading goals is also running out. Just like us everyday Americans, President Obama has also been working through a summer reading list of his own, comprised of titles that are new to the market as well as blockbusters that have already captivated readers around the world. If you're looking for a few more titles to add to your bookshelf before summer officially transitions into fall (or if you just want to read like the leader of the free world), check out the books President Obama has been paging through over the past few months and give them a try!

Read-alikes for Beyoncé's "Lemonade"

Since its debut on April 23, critics and music fans everywhere have been buzzing about "Lemonade," the new visual album by recording artist Beyoncé. Already a music icon and a role model for many women, Beyoncé's "Lemonade" is rumored to be inspired by the singer's own marital troubles with husband Jay-Z and contains themes of female empowerment, marital conflict, betrayal, revenge and independence, all of which have seemed to hit a chord with listeners of the album. If you're enjoying Beyoncé's serving of "Lemonade," check out the following list of book read-alikes, courtesy Novelist's Book Squad. Each of these titles contains themes similar to those found in "Lemonade," written from the perspective of...

Are You Up for a Challenge?

The great thing about libraries is that they offer countless materials for a wide variety of people to experience, regardless of age, race, size, background, sexual orientation, religion or economic status. Since each person has their own opinions and expectations of what constitutes a "good book," patrons across the world sometimes challenge books in an effort to have them removed from the library's collection. Each year, the American Library Association's Office for Intellectual Freedom compiles reports from libraries, schools and the media on attempts to ban books in communities across the country. Below is the ALA's list of the top 10 most-challenged books of 2015. If you're interested in seeing what all...

Are you up for a challenge?

The great thing about libraries is that they offer countless materials for a wide variety of people to experience, regardless of age, race, size, background, sexual orientation, religion or economic status. Since each person has their own opinions and expectations of what constitutes a "good book," patrons across the world sometimes challenge books in an effort to have them removed from the library's collection. Each year, the American Library Association's Office for Intellectual Freedom compiles reports from libraries, schools and the media on attempts to ban books in communities across the country. Below is the ALA's list of the top 10 most-challenged books of 2015. If you're interested in seeing what all...

Pages