MCPL logo

Marathon County Public Library

Skip Navigation ATTENTION: Please review our updated checkout policies.

Staff Reviews

Cover: 'D-Day: Remembering the Battle that Won the War'

"D-Day: Remembering the Battle that Won the War" by LIFE Magazine

★★★★ June 6, 2014 is the 70th anniversary of the Allied landings in Normandy, an epic battle that spelled the eventual downfall of Hitler's Third Reich. Many books have been published in honor of the anniversary, this LIFE release being one of the latest. LIFE D-DAY tops off at 144 pages and is a comprehensive D-Day overview that sets June 6 in historical...

Cover: 'The Other Typist'

"The Other Typist" by Suzanne Rindell

★★★ An intriguing tale of Rose Baker, a good girl working in a N.Y. police station in the 1920s. An orphan who was raised by nuns, Rose is very traditionally-minded despite working in a nontraditional occupation. With the increase in prohibition enforcement, the precinct is forced to hire another typist to keep up with the paperwork. Rose's obsession with the...

Cover: '100 Places You Will Never Visit: The World's Most Secret Locations'

"100 Places You Will Never Visit: The World's Most Secret Locations" by Daniel Smith

★★★★★ This utterly fascinating travel guide describes and illustrates sites us normal people will NEVER be allowed to visit. If you do try and visit them, you will end up being warned off by gun-toting guards, carted off to jail or killed! The sites include super-secret military and intelligence bases/sites around the world such as Area 51 and Diego Garcia,...

Cover: 'The Testing'

"The Testing" by Joelle Charbonneau

★★★★ Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent trilogies who are looking for their next read should grab The Testing. This young adult novel describes a dystopian society ravaged by the Seven Stages War, in which graduation day brings celebration and a wish for the future. Graduate Malencia Vale desperately hopes that she is one of the select few chosen for a...

Cover: 'John Wayne: A Photographic Celebration'

"John Wayne: A Photographic Celebration" by Marc Mompoint

★★★★ John Wayne is, arguably, the most popular movie actor of all time. Marc Mompoint offers up a photo-tribute to 'The Duke' in this appealing 2012 Skyhorse Publishing release. The book features color and b&w candid snaps and production stills from Wayne's life and times. John Wayne fans will undoubtedly enjoy this latest tribute to the iconic movie star...

Cover: 'The Collector'

"The Collector" by Nora Roberts

★★★★ In Nora Roberts' latest tale of romantic suspense, Lila Emerson, a professional house sitter, witnesses a murder from the window of the luxury apartment she is staying at. She is drawn into a deadly game of intrigue, world travel, and priceless art. Ashton Archer is determined to find out why his brother died, and recruits Lila to help him solve the...

Cover: 'Overwhelmed'

"Overwhelmed" by Brigid Schulte

★★★★ Brigid Schulte, a Washington Post journalist and busy wife and mother of two, tries to answer a question that is on everybody's minds in today's breathless, harried, and fast-paced world: how do we find the time to do it all and not lose our minds? Brigid's journey takes her to a time researcher who insists all American women have 30 hours of leisure time a...

Cover: 'The Night Circus'

"The Night Circus" by Erin Morgenstern

★★★★★ A true exhibit of fine writing, craftsmanship, and imagination!  This enchanting book takes to you a circus world you could only imagine and wish that you can experience yourself.  Imagine a black and white circus that has an air of magic surrounding it's every detail and those people who make it all come to life.  Follow the tale of Celia...

Cover: 'Watching You'

"Watching You" by Michael Robotham

★★★★★ Norwegian author Michael Robotham keeps the pace set high and the reader guessing until the very end. You may think you have figured it out sooner, but there's a twist that makes this author one to put on your "favorites" list. Marnie Logan's life seems to be taking one turn for the worst after another, but someone wants to help her. That someone causes...

Cover: 'The Painted Girls'

"The Painted Girls" by Cathy Marie Buchanan

★★★★ Set in 1878 Paris, this book tells the story of the van Goethem sisters as they struggle to survive extreme poverty following the death of their father and the descent of their mother into severe alcoholism. Antoinette loses her place on the opera stage and must find a way to help her family survive. Marie, with encouragement from Antoinette, takes her...

Cover: 'The Here and Now'

"The Here and Now" by Ann Brashares

★★★★ In "The Here and Now" we meet Prenna, an immigrant not from another country, but another time. Leaving behind the future dying world that has been ravaged by a plague, those few lucky survivors emigrate to the present day. They bring with them twelve strict rules they believe will protect the world they saw destroyed. But when Prenna is frantically warned...

Cover: 'Scourge: The Once and Future Threat of Smallpox'

"Scourge: The Once and Future Threat of Smallpox" by Jonathan B. Tucker

★★★★★ Jonathan Tucker narrates a spell-binding story in amazing factual detail of smallpox. This deadly disease was heroically eradicated from our planet, along with its hideous, painful, disfiguring and often fatal characteristics.  Many elderly citizens around the world bear the scar from smallpox vaccination, a practice now discontinued for the general...

Cover: 'The Wind is Not a River'

"The Wind is Not a River" by Brian Payton

★★★★★ This historical fiction captures events during World War II that were held in great secrecy from the American public: a Japanese invasion of the Aleutian Islands off the coast of Alaska. A reporter, John Easley, is shot down while traveling with American troops flying over the bleak and inhospitable island chain. He is unable to communicate with the outside...

Cover: 'Beaches, 100 Ultimate Escapes'

"Beaches, 100 Ultimate Escapes" by Stefano Passaquindici, Sabrina Talarico

★★★★★ Armchair travelers will enjoy Sabrina Talarico's captivating, full-color guide to the most breath-taking beaches in the world. Each beach rates a one-page write-up with one or more color photographs. The beaches are divided into sections: 'Fun Beaches,' ' Protected Beaches,' 'Natural Paradises,' 'Sports Beaches' and so on. The result is a charming, gorgeous...

Cover: 'The Fight in the Clouds'

"The Fight in the Clouds" by James P. Busha

★★★★ The North American P-51 Mustang enabled America to defeat the Axis powers in World War II. James Busha's book FIGHT IN THE CLOUDS describes many of the exciting air battles waged by P-51 pilots in the European and Pacific Theaters. Reminiscences by air aces, who downed five or more enemy aircraft, are intermingled with accounts by 'regular Joe' P-51 pilots...

Cover: 'The Burning Shore'

"The Burning Shore" by Ed Offley

★★★★ In the first half of 1942, Nazi Germany sent U-boats to the shores of America to savage the merchantmen and tankers plying the coastal waterways. At this stage of war, America was ill-prepared to deal with such an incursion, having too few ships, two few airplanes and ineffective naval leadership. For many months, Germany's 'grey wolves' sank ship after...

Cover: 'The $11 Billion Year'

"The $11 Billion Year" by Anne Thompson

★★★★★ In 2013, Hollywood had its best year ever, profits totaling 11 billion dollars! Hollywood expert Anne Thompson provides an insider look at how all that money was made, taking the reader through a year-long trip through film sets, movie studios, executive backrooms,  PR firms, film festivals, etc. as stars, producers and assorted talent wheel-and-deal....

Cover: 'Spectacular Paris'

"Spectacular Paris" by William Scheller

★★★★★ In need of a great coffee table book with beautiful pictures and insightful information?  This is it! Be transported to the City Of Light, Paris, through some very spectacular photographs of famous Parisian landmarks as well as some interesting insight to accompany them. This is the perfect book to transport your mind to one of the most iconic cities...

Cover: 'Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend'

"Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend" by Matthew Dicks

★★★★ Did you have an imaginary friend when you were young? Well, probably not like Budo. In this quirky short fiction by author Matthew Dicks, we meet Budo, the imaginary friend of Max, an eight year old boy “on the spectrum” as Budo hears from the adults around them. Budo is unique in that he is almost 5 years old, is self aware, and understands the fact that...

Cover: 'Nest'

"Nest" by Jorey Hurley

★★★★★ Robins arrive in the spring, prepare a nest, raise their young throughout the seasons in this beautifully illustrated picture book that is perfect for sharing. With only one word on each page it reads like a poem. The pictures lend themselves to adult-child conversation beyond the words.    

Cover: 'Get Into Art People'

"Get Into Art People" by Susie Brooks

★★★★★ Get Into Art People features twelve famous artists with distinct styles. Each section includes a full page reproduction of the artist’s work with information about the artist and his/her technique. The genius here is a fold out page with an accompanying project that incorporates the artist’s work. The book ends with a glossary and materials list. The book...

Cover: 'Journey'

"Journey" by Aaron Becker

★★★★★ In this wordless story a lonely girl with a red piece of chalk draws herself into another world. On her journey she finds adventure, peril and ultimately friendship. Although readers will think of "Harold and the Purple Crayon," this is a much more engaging story.  The illustrations are rich and full of color and detail. People of all ages will be...

Cover: 'Weird Insects'

"Weird Insects" by Michael Worek, Stephen Archer Marshall

★★★★★ Weird insects will amaze anyone remotely interested in insects. The book provides a magnifying glass look at insects from around the world. Each page is filled with a stunning and vibrant photo against a white page. Each page also lists insects’ common and scientific name as well as interesting facts about the insects’ characteristics and behavior. Budding...

Pages